Fisticuffs – Time To Eat

Even though it’s my one relatively consistent gaming experience, I don’t talk about Shadowfist much anymore.  It’s just the nature of settling in, that not as many things are new and shiny.  It’s also a matter of the game being a terribly casual affair for me.  Though, as I rewrite this sentence a couple of times, I realize anything I do repetitively I’m less likely to write about, so it’s not like weekly V:TES or weekly boardgames or weekly Type P Magic or whatever would cause me to post.

I’ve actually written quite a few Fisticuffs posts.  Why this one?

Let’s post a couple of decks.

Name: Memories of Money
Faction: Lotus
Size: 45

Lotus Cards (30)
Characters (11)
1x Doktor Herrnberger
4x Imp
2x Ming I
1x Punk Geomancers
1x Ravenous Devourer
1x Shi Kan Lun
1x Undead Horrors

Edges (1)
1x Insidious Plan

Events (14)
5x Bribery
1x Cries in the Night
1x Shi’s Dark Influence
1x Spirit Wrack
5x Tortured Memories
1x Underworld Coronation

Sites (1)
1x Shi’s Hillside Estate

States (3)
3x The Mark of Evil

Generic Cards (15)
Events (7)
1x Discerning Fire
1x Larcenous Mist
3x Pocket Demon
2x Spirit in a Bottle

Feng Shui Sites (8)
1x Cataract Gorge
1x City Center
2x Dockyard
1x Martyr’s Tomb
1x River of Lights
1x The Hidden Grotto
1x Waterfall Sanctuary

Nothing unusual about the idea of steal and sacrifice.  Some choices may seem unusual, but I throw together a lot of decks from whatever is lying around.  Then, there is some tech in here.

I keep trying to play with Ming I because:  alpha, I like the art; beta, I’m offended by how bad she is compared to Queen of the Darkness Pagoda; gamma, I rarely get her into play and do anything with her.  The sacrifice thing is synergy.

The Mark of Evil is a card I don’t recall ever putting into play.  I’ve played this deck a couple of times, and I didn’t even see it Thursday night.

Every deck plays better with our house rules, but the dearth of foundation characters is concerning.  I happen to have had a Dockyard early on, then used Bribery to take a Wailing Apparition to play Doktor Herrnberger.

Cataract Gorge rarely pays off for me, but I may have included here under the theory that I steal so many dudes I can fail and still attack with a hitter.  Waterfall Sanctuary is pretty good in the Thursday meta, which some may not find surprising, but I don’t find Waterfall to be the hotness in more general metas, especially when every deck has to include 5x Mobius Gardens and Dockyards and Manufactured Islands.

The Hidden Grotto was good to me in that I seized a site, taking me to three, then revealed to have enough power to play Ming I.  So cheesy in like a 7 Masters deck where you Jade Willow over and over.

River of Lights almost never gives me 2 power.  However, I see a reason to include it over other high body sites.  It forces me to think about burning for victory.  Too often, I’ll not think through the benefits of burning for victory, either overrating it or underrating it.  At least this gets me to consider when I’m prone to underrating it.

So, what happened?

Don (Syndicate power) -> Joren (Lotus states) -> Ian (Memories of Money)

Don put out two early Mars Program Executives.  I considered a while before Spirit Wracking one of them before he ended his turn.  Don kept having lots of power, anyway, using multiple The Price of Progress to annoy us as we tried to rein him in.  Joren’s Wailing Apparition got Bite of the Long Teeth and Vampirism.  I stole it and ran it into his Soul Reaver to tidy up his board.

After I played Ming I, Joren Evil Twinned it.  Don had a Street Doc and Song, The Little Dragon.  My Ming I was cancelled with seven damage.  I played Shi Kan Lun, sent him and Ming I after Don’s site, sacced Ming I, burned for victory.  I played Shi’s Hillside Estate, took Song, Tortured Memories Evil Twin, and won.

Yes, our environment is power heavy.  It probably does extend games in that three-player games can easily become beatdowns where one player doesn’t do much of anything, where it’s really hard not to be able to do things with our house rules.

Name: Eleven Evils
Faction: Lotus
Size: 45

Lotus Cards (26)
Characters (17)
1x Demon Emperor
3x Eater of Fortune
1x Gibbering Horror
2x Li Yu
1x Seven Evils
5x Sinister Priest
2x Ti Kan
2x Two Hundred Knives of Pain

Events (9)
2x Corruption
1x Die!!!
4x Evil Whispers
2x Flying Sleeves

Generic Cards (19)
Events (7)
1x Discerning Fire
1x Larcenous Mist
3x Pocket Demon
2x Spirit in a Bottle

Feng Shui Sites (11)
3x Dockyard
2x Hydroponic Garden
1x Martyr’s Tomb
5x The Great Wall

States (1)
1x Six Demon Bag

Most of this deck was made from loose cards from when I broke down other Lotus decks.  I’m a big fan of Li Yu (special) and Ti Kan (art, 5 fighting).  Finally, the blog has come back to … the reason for calling out this session.

I played two Lotus decks in two games.  I played two lotus decks with the same number of Discerning Fire, Larcenous Mist, Pocket Demons, and Spirits in a Bottle.  Yet, the Lotus cards are rather different.

Alpha, Lotus have too many good+fun cards.  I’m willing to play steal cheese.  I’m willing to be so less cheesy and play fair Lotus cards.  I’m willing to play terrible Lotus cards like Gibbering Horror.  I would note that I’m constantly sitting in the wrong place as, if I were one seat to the left in games, they would be h-u-u-u-g-e, potentially worth the cost.  That’s a political joke and a sports joke in one people.  I’m like totally gifted.

Beta, let’s talk Lotus characters.  Not enough Eaters of Fortune in the deck.  All of Jammer and not Jammer nonsense have to Die!!!  So mote it be.  I don’t get why I’ve never seen Li Yu outside of my playing it.  It’s often amazing, just sloughing Final Brawls and miscellaneous annoyance plays.  Two Hundred Knives of Pain is the main reason people play Shadowfist – things have cool names.  It is, however, a rather terrible card.  Sure, the threat of its ability is vaguely better than using its ability, but I’d rather have a good Lotus 4-F character and, no, not Underworld Tracker – UT is just so dull with its obvious brokenness.  Sure, I’ll play UTs at times, but that just shows two things.  Omega, I do actually play good/broken cards at times in CCGs.  Psi, Lotus brokenness is more palatable to me than other brokenness just as Centauri cheese was more palatable to me than Narn cheese or Voter Cap abuse has become more palatable to me than Dominate abuse.

Gamma, events.  Corruption, to me, is sweet delicious feldspar-hard plums.  It’s just fun and totally my sort of card.  I should do a Card of the Weak for Shadowfist where I bring up all of the cards in other CCGs that are like Corruption that float my kayak.  Evil Whispers was an experiment.  Evil Whispers is awful in our meta for the obvious …, Gardens related reason.  It marginally got me more power than it gave my opponents.  Flying Sleeves is really good, twice (yup, 2 for 2) stopping Xin Ji Yang from causing the Empire of Evil to my left from winning.

Delta, generic events.  Why the same seven?  Alt power gain, even in the land of Gardens, is necessary.  Larcenous Mist isn’t just to further punish tank decks or gun decks or whatever, it’s also to address that some players like to play absurdly obnoxious characters.  Discerning is mostly to murder monkeys … and whatever else annoys me that day.  There was a turn in game two in which Don was set up to go for the win and had my Seven Evils for the turn.  I told Joren I could deal with Seven Evils.  I was prepared to Discerning Fire for “evil” to remove Empire of Evil as well, as I didn’t want to choose demon when Don didn’t have another demon in play, leaving me the only other demonmeister.

Two Lotus decks that have incredible similarities and ridiculous differences.  That’s just how I roll.  If IKG would ever let me design a card, I’d create a Lotus character.  A noble, virtuous Lotus character because you can look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!  The Empire of Good shall reign!  Yup, that’s a classic poem reference and a callback within this post.  I may be getting more and more decrepit, but I’m as good once, as I ever was.

So, what happened?

Ian (Eleven Evils) -> Don (Feast of Souls) -> Joren (monkeys)

I actually had to support Don at times.  So it is written, so mote it be – monkeys gotta meet their maker.

I had Die!!! in my hand early on while Don and Joren were tussling, but I couldn’t play it.  Yes, even given our house rules, I still run into resource issues.

What made this game unusual was that we got into this situation where everyone was constantly on 3-4 FSSs.  I actually had a pretty good setup with four FSS in play because Joren had Potlatched me, so, since everyone else would win if they took one of my sites, I not only always had four in play but could afford to lose one and still just take for the victory.

The actual victory was not terribly interesting, being attrition based as we kept stopping Don’s hitters and Joren’s monkey poo from winning.  Sure, Don did have a Haunted Forest in play that duped a Family Home, then a Mobius Gardens.  He cancelled his Feast of Souls when I Eatered it, as his deck is designed to do.

Sure, I won both games.  I tend to do better in three-players probably because someone else is usually the threat early, yet our rules allow for people to always be in the game.  Maybe the fewer decisions on what to do make it easier for me to make decisions that balance things in my favor.

Welp, that’s Shadowfist from 2017/7/6.  It’s like gaming, with customizable decks.  It’s like the good stuff in life.

On a totally unrelated note, congratulations to Martin for winning the V:TES NAC.  Great guy.  I really, really need to figure out a plan for playing V:TES more often.  At this rate, though, not until after Gen Con.  No momentum at all locally, from what I see, due to Anthology Set, which a shame it be.

Leave a Reply

