500 Ways To Read Your …

I almost forgot this was post 500.

I was thinking of talking about the last Shadowfist session, which didn’t go particularly well.

I was thinking of talking about a book I’m reading.

But, that would not be calling out a milestone.

I’m not going to link back to a bunch of posts as some sort of retrospective.  I essentially do that at the end of each year.

I started a blog because I was not satisfied with how much opining I was doing to local gaming groups and on game forums.  I got tired of the substance being lost in the argument.  Those don’t sound like terribly positive things, but negative motivation is motivation.

Whether as motivation or as a result, I got an opportunity to talk about things I only talk about with those I game with and family and friends … who probably don’t pay much attention since Ultimate Combat!, the craziness of niche CCG playtesting, the craziness of my V:TES tournament play, or whatever isn’t nearly as important to the audience as to the person who pursues gaming as a way to be amused.

More so with stories but also other posts, I entertain myself.  I reread my old posts.  Sure, I hit the same areas with many of the same opinions more often than is probably useful.

Over time, one can see clearly what I’m playing and what I’m not.  Can see batches of V:TES for a few months become a bunch of L5R, see references to whatever I’m running – Solomon Kane, Legend of the Burning Sands, Feng Shui – for those brief periods I end up running anything.  Can see how trips to China got me playing more mahjong than I had in decades.  Pretty obvious what TV shows I watch.  Get an idea of what books I read or were inspired by when younger.  Can see when I got into Shadowfist and started backing things on Kickstarter (the two coinciding).  Can see when BattleTech became important and when play dropped off.  Can see where I suddenly started paying attention to the True Dungeon economy.

Can see the posts that were struggles and may be able to glean those that weren’t.  (Hint:  tournament reports often aren’t a struggle, trying to stay on theme, though …).  Can see where I, unfortunately, stopped reading Magic articles.

Lot of things can be seen.  But, as much as I feel pressure to try to post often enough to maintain interest which is not great, it may not be as obvious how enjoyable it can be to write when I’m “feeling it”.

As I don’t get much in the way of feedback, the most I can glean is that people are really, really starved for L5R RPG analysis, with a side dish of travel log.  Still, hopefully, there’s enough audience for other things, like how many times is the correct number of times to eat at Steak & Shake in Indianapolis.

I might enjoy reading my own thoughts, but I hope that I also provide something to the audience.  I appreciate the reader, who inspires the writer to actually write.  And, while not the Thanksgiving time of year, I’m grateful that I get to do what I get to do, including struggling to find a Gen Con hotel room.

No promises that I’ll get better at this or even that I won’t beat more dead pegasi, but I’ll endeavor to keep spewing non-unregardable geniusness upon the world.

One Response to 500 Ways To Read Your …

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hooray more l5r analysis!

Leave a Reply

