Nordliga Riter

Day The First

Day The First

Got back from Stockholm yesterday Monday.

Shout out to Henrik who made the trip so much better by providing a local’s milieu.  Was at his friend’s birthday party Friday night and told people “I’ve only been here 1.5 days, but it’s been an amazing trip already”, which made me realize I had only been there 1.5 days and it felt like 3 days with all of the sightseeing I did the day I arrived and Friday during the day.

From Gamla Stan to ...

From Gamla Stan to …

I used both my phone and my camera.  Phone often takes better pictures for me to look at.  Camera seems to do broader shots well.  Many of the phone photos were to send to coworkers, which is why all of the food photos are sitting on my phone.

... To Södra Djurgården

… To Södra Djurgården

Friday night was Henrik’s friend’s birthday party, which had many folks appear over the course of the eve.  His friends were quite nice to this tourist and conversations that included book publishing (fantasy/horror), boardgames, politics, criminal justice, Egypt, and … wax?? … and who the hell I was since I had only met Henrik the day before occurred.

Of course, the reason this trip ended up happening is because I looked at the V:TES tournament calendar and saw that there was a tournament on the 21st.  So, I get up and look outside my window to the cemetery across the street, as is standard operating procedure when going to Sweden in the Winter.

Morning Vista

Morning Vista

And, off to Kungsholmen to hit the Lair of Dragon’s.

Some building that wasn't the game store ..

Some building that wasn’t the game store ..

Once enlaired, V:TES was played and we can move into something about … wait for it … gam-ing.

*sigh*  The mat is so much better looking than the balding dude.

*sigh* The mat is so much better looking than the balding dude.

But, before talking about gam-ing, let me talk about nuts.  Nuts for the nutty.  I took nut bars, peanut bars, pistachios (gift), macadamia nuts (was going to be a gift), and pecans to Scandinavia.  That was not optimal.  Nut (and peanut) allergy concerns are rather high – I’m seeing a day when eventually nutlike drupes/legumes/seeds will not even be allowed in public places.  On the flight back, I think it was the pilot who asked everyone to not eat any nuts due to someone’s severe allergies.  Well, whatever, 10.5 hour flight without food is quite drupey.

Fourteen players (one drop after round 2), 3+F.  I have phone photos proving I took a fan and used it while on every one of my Winter vacations in Sverige.  Remember kids, take antihistamines and take a fan.  Speaking of life saving devices or something approximating such, Henrik helped me find a beanie on my first day and I now understand why people wear them – people have ears and Greenland hasn’t become the hot new housing market yet.

Round 1:

Ian (Ishtarri Bamba) -> Michael (Kiasyd SB) -> Randal (Nakhthorheb Eternals SB) -> Peter (fat FoS with votes) -> Jonas (Sticklike Mennish)

Peter calls a Reckless Agitation doing one to me.  Peter doesn’t survive much longer.  Not sure why Jonas didn’t try to burn out stealth with Eyes of Argus, but his mostly bleeding didn’t do much for either of us, as he was choked on combat and losing pool was unhealthy for my endgame prospects.

Michael did bring out a lot of dudes as I did little forward.  He went to 2 pool as so many of my prey do for reasons that escape me.  He damaged Randy to a degree but not enough.  I considered later that maybe I try to survive one more round and let him go all forward on the non-bouncing Settites so that my endgame is easier, but I took my one VP under the philosophy that I could use more pool and that it was early in the tournament.  The latter is possibly a bad way to think.  I don’t play much in the way of 3+Fs, so I haven’t figured out whether to pluck low hanging fruit or go big, early.

I also kind of sucked at playing, forgetting my own Perfectionists repeatedly, not even realizing I played DI on my own turn due to Randy’s Enkil Cog bleed, not managing priority to where I take my 5 bleed and get the edge back before ending my turn.

Round 2:

Eric [Erik?] (Aus/Tha/Vic that’s all the rage these days, only more fighty) -> Kim (Kiasyd) -> Ian -> Ivan (Goratrix and friends wall) -> Eric [Erik?] (Matasuntha Anarch)

Where the first round, I got out Blood Dolls and Vessels to pretend I had a chance in the endgame against being bled for 7 a turn or whatever, I played a Tribute to the Master this round.  Not playing in NoCal, where that would mean a timeout with my surviving to the end.  I only survived to around the one hour mark with the only bleed deck behind me and three wall decks in front of me.

Matasuntha got Amaranthed by prey.  I took a shot at bleeding for 3 when Ivan was at 3 and he bounced with his Pentexed Goratrix.  Sha-Ennu Eric killed Matasuntha Eric with Ancient Influence.  He later killed Kim and Ivan with Reins of Power when Ivan had no ready minions.

Inauspicious.  I figured 2.5 VPs might get me to the finals, as I knew Ivan was leaving and he had a first round GW.  Had to play for 2 VPs in the third round, at a minimum.

Round 3:

Eric (Matasuntha above) -> Randal -> Eric [don’t think Erik] (!Gangrel intercept bleed) -> Ian

So, V:TES, I hear from people who know something about the game, is like a game that is played with a massive number of participants.  Sometimes 17 (which I will not do again).  Sometimes less.  Only the nutty play mano a mano.

Yet, consider.  Going into the tournament, Randal and I had 13 tournament wins apiece (my recent advancement led to this tie).  I was in the endgame against him in round 1.  Spoiler alert – I was in the endgame against him in round 3.  (He blew through Eric even with Eric having Marked Territory, Abbot, whatever.)

One might almost say … one who is quite full of his beanie and French jacket bought in Shanghai … that the entire tournament was simply a duel to the undeath between 14% of the participants.

On the L-eft, L-oser.  On the R-ight, R-enniw.  Uh, I mean, winne-R.

On the L-eft, L-oser. On the R-ight, R-enniw. Uh, I mean, winne-R.

I had seven masters in my hand of nine cards in the endgame.  Yet again, trying to bloat wide didn’t actually wide or bloat.  Though, to be fair, if I wanted better consistency, I should have had more focus or more cycle.

Two VPs weren’t going to surpass five players who had GWs.  I know, shocking.

Finals:

Randy did not get ousted.  He ousted some folks.  At some point, (assumedly) I will show 13 tournament wins and he will show 14.  It’s like all I do is hand victories to better players.  Well, it’s good to have a goal in life.

Pickup:

My only pickup.  I lent a deck to my prey.

Eric (Khazar’s) -> Henrik (Ahrimanes) -> Michael (tournament deck) -> Ian (Hermana Mayor w/ Dominate) -> Eric (… um … this is tough, see below)

This was a pretty terrible game, with neither Eric doing anything productive.  However, my prey immediately mastered my deck.  Matthias burns Vial of Elder Vitae for Thaumaturgy and plays Magic of the Smith to get … wait for it … wait for it … Vial of Elder Vitae.  Freak Drive.  Burn Vial of Elder Vitae for Temporis and play Summon History.  Use Mirror Walk!! for stealth to get Ankara.  Yup, he almost saw the light.  Needed to bring out Marie Faucigny second rather than a second Salubri.

Henrik controlled some and tooled up.  Michael did try some bleeds.

I called Randy over to look at my hand.  Standard Blood Sister hand of Oppugnant Night and, em, three Deflections and, er, three Poison Pills.

Store closed after I had 2 VPs and bounced Michael’s final bleed.  I did Disarm Howler and a Salubri.

If only I could have shown the Norra a glimpse of my metagame, but, no, boring old Mayor Bounce and lending out the banal Salubri Vial Summon History deck.  Well, another time.

We got Eritrean food for dinner, which was much more affordable than my forays into Swedish food restaurants (aka touristy places) or even the pub with the waitress from Toronto.  Then, a drinking establishment for me to get a second Zingo.  My first Zingo was upon Freya’s Day, when 3+ hours of walking left me weak and Zingo-wanting.  The first Zingo was far more pleasing, which I’m sure had everything to do with the vintage and not my having spent much of the light of a Winter’s day walking the circumference of an island.

Sunday was Långholmen day.  So, recapping a bit, day one involved Riddarholmen and a stretch of Gamla Stan.  Day two involved Gamla Stan, Södra Djurgården, Beckholmen.  Day three involved Kungsholmen.  Because everyone loves recaps that include information not previously disclosed.

Most of my good pictures are on my phone, including the parting shot of the husky that ran up to me to get petted.

Most of my good pictures are on my phone, including the parting shot of the husky that ran up to me to get petted.

I was looking for beaches.  Because what else is there to do in Europe in zero degree weather with a negative wind chill?  I had been cold at times during the trip.  Took a little rest at a prince’s pad to get out of the wind and get some sun earlier in the trip.  But, I was both exhausted this day and freezing walking across the longest bridge of any bridge ever … that I walked across in Stockholm.

I found two spots that could kind of seem like beaches including where the husky sat on my foot while I scratched it.

I was not much for more touristing, but Henrik kept telling me I should try semla, so I hopped the tube to Gamla Stan only to have my target place be closed and a cafe not carry it.  Had Princess Cake just to do something.

Oh, should probably mention that I never had my Thursday pea soup and pancakes, but I had meatballs (not at Ikea), fläskschnitzel cordon bleu, fishy butter, various breads including tortillalike polar bread, black currant juice, hallon juice, deer sausage (along with lamb sausage and bear’s garlic sausage), and near the end of the trip moose, reindeer, cheese pie, and … semla.

What about gaming?!?

Oh, yes, played Hero Realms for the first time and lost to Henrik.  Lost a Star Realms Colony Wars game to him, as well.  Beat him at two-player Magic Commander, so I wasn’t entirely embarrassing on the trip gam-ing-wise.

Think that was it for gaming.  Talked about V:TES, of course.  Talked briefly about the Traveller Card Game.  Other than superultrarareworthnearinfinitekronor playmat samples, I couldn’t fit much in my lack of checked bags to demo with.  Talked more Babylon 5 CCG than Ultimate Combat! CCG.

Monday was leaving day, but, before leaving, Hagaparken.

Gloomier, eh?

Gloomier, eh?

Not as cold as I was not staying near the water nearly as much as on previous days.

Walked to the train station, off to Märsta and airport.

I could speak of the weirdness of ATMs in Stockholm, where I don’t really need more money leaving the country than entering it, nor do I need a ton of cash at a grocery store, except I lived off of cash because I think it was my optimal rate over going credit card fees.

Everything is close together.  I could walk islands in .5-3.5 hours.  Waterways everywhere.  Nice crunchy snow.  Everyone put up with the monolingual tourist by communicating in a shared language.  Old world feel that I get at times in places like Cairo or parts of China I haven’t been to since the mid ’80s and maybe elsewhere.

Was an amazing trip and a fantastic place to visit.  I want to hit the archipelago and get some kayaking in next time … because there really ought to be a next time.  Maybe I’ll crush in the rematch, too, you know, with Vials of Elder Vitae or whatever.  Forgot something gam-ing related – I was totally expecting votes and only saw one vote the entire Saturday.

Leave a Reply

