Courtier Of The Ivory Throne

So, I played my first Champions of the Ivory Throne module.  Not 00 because I’m not special enough to rate playing mods in order.  Though, I vastly preferred HoR2 to HoR3, and I played mods way out of order, only playing the intro mod very, very late.

I was thinking about how HoR3 turned out.  I may have said this precise thing, but what was such a let down with HoR3 was how my characters had no meaningful arcs, not just irrelevant to the campaign but the campaign was irrelevant to them.  Now, my alt did have some minor arc by marrying into the Crane and was just generally more fun to play.  My main was just muscle for parties – a joke became an ironic joke.

There are reasons for the difference in experience that have nothing to do with the campaigns and their structures and everything to do with who I played mostly with.  The question is:  can I find paths to go down that entertain me more in the absence of helpful other players?

Was there some way to have Moshi Shigeo be fun?  Too forced.  Too much focus on mechanics, with his “No, not a shugenja.  Not a Yoritomo Bushi.  …”  Or, was it really more of not enough focus on finding a hook?  Ikoma Jun had a hook, then Isawa Ryota ended up with some related hooks, not all of which required other players.

Miya Tatakisu still needs time.  But, am I overly focused on mechanics again, or, shall we say, since Miya Heralds have no mechanics, the lack of them?

Where I thought HoR3 was far too much bait and switch to where trying to care about what was going on only was punished, maybe this time I’ll figure out what CIT means to my characters.  What one thing can I leverage into campaign long focus?

Sunday and Monday is planned for more play.  Maybe have more read in a few days.

One thing about not playing L5R of any sort for a while is that I really feel out of a groove.  There’s a cadence to playing mods and there’s being comfortable with your character sheet that you play to strengths and remember your role.

I forgot a bit of psychology with my character that could have enriched the experience – don’t avoid risk, it’s boring.  I did already have one of those “amusing if you pay attention to what amuses me but not so much if you don’t care” moments.  Let’s just say I rolled Initiative … and then didn’t roll after.

I suppose I should be encouraged that Intelligence was actually useful in the mod, though it also generally frustrates me as I’d like to increase INT but can’t remotely afford it forever or until I stop planning my buys hundreds of points into the future and just impulse buy.

One thing I’ve got to get away from is how when I look at the mechanics of 4e, I see repetition.  I see grappling and no-dachi and shugenjahood and Reflexes and all of the other good stuff and am just bored with it.  Yet, I’ve played a R-5 bushi with Agility 2 and Void 2.  There is fun to be had in not doing the good stuff.  Maybe that was part of the problem with Shigeo – fighting the bad stuff of his school with good stuff, instead of just being really weird all over the place.  Tatakisu does go in for mechanical “this is something different for me and should be fun”, even if the first mod completely defeated what he was supposed to be good at.

On a side note, my local group is shugenjaless.  That’s so scary.  We may have to actually use good combat tactics and not suck at Perception, er, be amazing at Perception (somehow, with Water being one of my dump Rings) to compensate for lack of gods.  Well, HoR2 wasn’t all about shugenja in my play, so maybe I’m overparanoiding.  OTOH, HoR2 used 3/3r, where everyone was bonkers powerful if they knew what they were doing.

I won’t be playing my alt, Kuni Johin, for a while, but I should flesh him out for those rare times when I expect to play him.

Getting back to something, good tactics, here’s the lesson for today so that you get something useful out of this post rather than listen to me whine.  Understand stances.

Lots of folks do Full Attack wrong.  Your action options are incredibly limited.  But, that’s less of a concern than knowing when you should adopt it and when you shouldn’t from a “I want enemies dead but remain alive” standpoint.

Know the Initiative order precisely, even when there’s a single enemy.  Factor in that even in FA, if you have enough ATN and your opponent has enough WP, you may just end up getting missed, as what happened yesterday, when the roll against a comrade was a 16, but the -10 ATN was nullified by the +10 WP.

Are you making much use out of FA?  Do you need it to hit?  If not, are you calling Raises that really matter?

On the flip side, is it any worse than Attack Stance for the situation?  If not, +2k1 is a big deal.

The issue with Attack Stance is knowing when not to be in it.  Sometimes, you have to adopt it on round one because you don’t know if you will attack or not.  I’m still at the point where I have to spend a simple action to draw a weapon (which, by the way, almost no one ever requires of people running around with large weapons, oh, and yes, I didn’t say string a bow, I said draw a weapon for … reasons).  So, right now, still a lot of default to Defense.

Full Defense is just awful.  Yet, I thought about it … and dismissed it when I realized I still would need to draw a weapon before attacking.  It exists for those rare occasions when doing nothing is productive.  I might use this some if I end up in parties that just overpower the opposition, like was common in HoR2.  Again, if we don’t run with real healing, taking damage is suicidal.

Speaking of doing nothing, if I play properly, I should be using Center Stance far more than I ever did in the past.  I still need XP to get to the point where I can do nothing and do something next round, but I’ve got to plan out the timing of Center, including factoring in the Initiative bonus, including considering the possibility of using the +1k1+Void bonus on things besides attack rolls and damage rolls.

Well, the thrust and parry of this post wasn’t supposed to be everything about stances, so let me throw out a second lesson for the day while talking about playing a courtier in a shugenjaless world and the need not to explode into a fine red mist.  I need to pay far more attention to Void Point reserves and spending VPs on ATN bonuses at the beginning of rounds.

My common tactic may become:  “Center Stance, Initiative N.  Spend VP on +10 ATN for the round.  That’s it, let me know when round two is up.”  Now, that’s in the short term, where my Reflexes of 3 and lack of sturdiness are more relevant.  Eventually, need to switch out of this mode of thinking.

Though, much like being flexible with stances, being flexible with VP spending and maneuvers is … is … is what makes L5R 4e actually a far superior combat system IMO to most RPG combat systems.

So, lesson three, think about these things before you roll Initiative and have plans in place for how to play out combat.  Or, hope someone drops Be the Mountain on you and Paths you when you are feeling a might peckish, and don’t worry about sound tactics at all.

One Response to Courtier Of The Ivory Throne

  1. […] a follow up to Courtier of the Ivory Throne, I’ve had various […]

Leave a Reply

