KublaCon 2016

I’m not a fan of posting two posts on the same day, so I could have scheduled this to post tomorrow, but I won’t since the UC! post I made earlier today is only relevant to, I’m sure, a very small number of people.

I have become even less invested in local cons.  Because I usually commute back and forth to KublaCon, I don’t have to be there all weekend.  Much of my enthusiasm, actually, is to go to my favorite Chinese restaurant and get my favorites, though it seems to be always really busy these days.

I had work Friday, like a lot of people.  I went home and built some Shadowfist decks and realized I didn’t need to be at the con until noon Saturday to do anything I cared to do.

Saturday

After getting tan tan mian, I get to the con at about the perfect time, finding a close by parking spot on the street.  Why do I mention this?  As far as I’m concerned, the parking situation has been resolved and people should stop complaining about it.

Shadowfist classic.  Top prize – box of 7 Masters versus the Underworld.  How fitting.

Because, I have sucked in Shadowfist tournaments.  I may have won a game or two but was never a credible threat to win a tournament.  I decided to play coherent decks for a change to see if all that really matters is building the best deck possible, like how all other multiplayer CCGs are entirely about building the best deck.

I had won every game I ever played playing a 7 Masters deck (I had Kunlun Clan Assault in one or two other decks that didn’t always win).  That is no longer true.

Game 1:

Miguel (Virtuous Hoods/Proving Ground), Ian (Master of None), Earl (Purists)

I get a terrible start where I can’t really play any cards as I get a lack of 7 Masters resources.  Miguel and Earl fight a lot, balancing the table some.  I eventually can start playing cards, including a free Red Bat and a free Jade Willow.  I win.

Earl’s tiebreakers are crap.

Game 2:

Steve (Monarch Battleground), Miguel, Ian

Steve got lots of battlegrounds in play that I wanted to eliminate, he also got a couple hitters in play.  I kept playing hitter after hitter until I won.

Steve’s tiebreakers are crap.

Finals:

I convinced Earl to have a finals rather than a third round as I didn’t see any way I don’t win if there isn’t a finals.

Earl, Steve (7 Masters, no foundation *characters*), Ian

I get out strong, Monkey Fools the Tiger wrecks me.  Earl has a very weak early game, so it’s just me and Steve trying to cripple each other.  I get out Jade Willow.  She’s gone.  Steve gets out Jade Willow.  She’s gone.  Discerning Fire kept Steve in check by taking out multiple masters.

Steve gets out Ghost Wind.  We don’t have enough left to stop him.

To beat the Master, you have to play the Master.  I have won every game I have ever played with this broken faction except when playing against this broken faction.  And, I’m not that good at Shadowfist.

I pick up promos I didn’t have.  Yeah, promos.  Ian loves promos.  He so loves promos.  Promos are the best thing ever.  Remember, Disarray and Destined to Be is a bombo and should not have won me that Babylon 5 tournament to get me placed into Worlds.  Yesss.  You cannot combo two promo cards and make other people incapable of winning unless you play Dragonball Z or whatever.

Actually, I don’t play promo cards in my Modern decks because I don’t know which are legal.  I also largely don’t play promos at all because they aren’t organized to where I know where they are.

V:TES

So, the tournament ends and I play some Dresden Files Coop Boardgame that I just find really weird because it just seems incredibly limited.  All coop games are somewhat solitaire like, but the randomness in this game is so low, that this game feels like playing extremely fancy solitaire.  Like, you don’t need any of the actual rules and could just get a deck of 52 cards and play solitaire and it would be about as interesting.

Anyway, V:TES.

We had 8 people.  We still couldn’t play a tournament because people won’t commit to playing tournaments at cons in any semblance of making them meaningful.  Some guy left after the first round and we had 7.

We played four games.  Brad swept two.  I got the same number of VPs but didn’t sweep my two, so he won.  Promo cards for everyone and packs for table winners, which is kind of meaningless for me since the prize support is all stuff I own.

I did play my Ani/Nec/Trochomancy deck both games because it’s … fun.

I talked to a few people about the demo that was happening Sunday morning.  None of those people showed up for it.

Sunday

I got into a Slayers d20 game.  I was not all that enthused because I kind of just don’t care about most things, but it was an opportunity to play a RPG at the con.  The GM didn’t show up.

I hung out with Brett for his V:TES demo for hours, he did a demo, we went to have lunch.  I’m just not that enthused by rice cake.  I ordered stir fried rice cakes to try them, even though I know a friend of mine from China had ordered rice cake when we went there and I didn’t care much for that dish, either.  I did get the all important sesame balls rolled in crushed peanuts, which ranks up there with ice cream as an elite dessert.

It was unclear how many we were going to have for the Shadowfist Modern event, so Earl and I played some Star Realms while the others got started.

To be blunt, I hate Dominion.  I find it a bore.  I hate Thunderstone, same reason.  Lots of chrome for virtually no game.  Star Realms is actually a good game.  I’d rather play a CCG than a deckbuilding game, but it’s just what a deckbuilding game should be like.

Earl beat me in the two-player.  I won a three-player off of exactly enough damage.  I left off midgame to play in the Shadowfist event and my sub won the other three-player with a very Blobby deck.

Shadowfist Modern

Ian (Queens of Nu Gua), Drew (Lotus), Andy (Ascended Insurance Policy), Paul (Jammers)

What was funny was that my Daughters of Nu Gua were fairly easily blocked as many of Drew’s characters didn’t have magic.

I got three sites in play with little on the board.  Andy was struggling hard to play anything.  I put out a Daughter and Deadly Fansed her to take Drew’s Emerald Mine.  She didn’t die due to a lot of help from Medicinal Flower Garden.  I played a second Daughter and had event stoppage and Andy’s damaged Dockyard game me the win as Drew had just too little to clear it out earlier.

Same group, same decks.

I didn’t get out to a fast start just an efficient start with a Temple Guards and Butterfly Swords to burn for power.  Andy couldn’t play much besides sites that no one took, so he had lots of power but only foundations in play.  Drew got out three sites.  Paul benefited from no one being concerned about him.  Andy on four sites in play and power was a threat.  He could have made a bid for victory with Tears of the Crocodile but didn’t, knowing Drew had a bunch of character kill.

On the last turn, I pointlessly went for the win, knowing the table would stop it, but I Blade Palmed one of Andy’s sites to put me at 4 and everyone else at 3.

Yup, no character with fighting more than 4 in my deck, and I win my first Shadowfist tournament.  Here’s the lesson, kiddicos – great art trumps great cards.

Thanks to Earl for running events, Andy for playing in one of them, and everyone else who played.  CCGs are the best competitive games anyone has ever come up with – they should be played, even bad ones.

Monday

It’s Monday, and I never left home.  The KublaCon schedule was just bad.  It’s a bit … ironic? … that Kubla used to be ManaFest and CCGs only and the only events I played in were CCG events.

I didn’t hang out much with folks.  I didn’t talk newConan with Brad.  I just thought about how I could hit my dumpling place as often as possible and had ludicrously overpriced and terrible pizza from a place in San Mateo.

I actually like pizza, from chains.  I just don’t get how anyone charges more than the chains when pizza is the cheapest thing you can have someone else make for you that rates as food.

Grade?  I so don’t think grades even matter anymore.  What I want to do is often not available or is dependent upon people wanting to do pickup games at cons.  The schedules are just so not my thing, unlike Gen Con, where I would have played in double the number of events if I could have.  That I didn’t even play a RPG at Kubla was a torn signpost.

While V:TES has sucked more at other cons, that there’s no stability to how many people are around is really frustrating for having people get a chance to just play more.

I did however have some interesting conversations about CCGs because, you know, Kubla is all about the CCGs.

Magic.  I was doing my usual rant about how the draw one card a turn in Magic is what fails it.  I gave the example that paying 3 life to draw an additional card [in draw step, probably only once a turn] would have made it far more interesting, though it could also be argued that it makes it way more snowbally.  Really, even draw 2 cards a turn is a far better game.  Anyway, this would make life gain far more attractive.

I was talking to Brett and explaining some things about Precedence CCGs – B5, WoT, TR.  He thought the Shadow War mechanic was interesting only in reverse for V:TES.  Instead of making it harder to win, something like Antediluvian Awakening coming up to make everyone die.  I put out the idea of having it happen at 10 turns, then a second at 15 turns.  Of course, what makes V:TES slow is players not mechanics.  Either players who don’t take their turns quickly or players who build decks weak in offense or both.  In other words, everyone in our area I can think of.

The far more interesting thing to me is the discussion about redoing V:TES with no ousts.

My concept is that you get VPs for reducing someone’s pool below a certain threshold maybe to zero and you get VPs for torping vampires and maybe burning allies or maybe not.  You lose VPs for diablerie or burning vampires.

So, how does pool work if it can go to zero?  You constantly regenerate pool when below a certain level.  For instance, you gain pool when below 10, gaining like 3 pool a turn or something.  You gain VPs if you can reduce a player’s pool to maybe something like below 5, maybe more if you go to 0.

How do you win?  Most VPs.  Most VPs when?  Thought about time, but I don’t think time works.  Thought about a race game, like Babylon 5 and a bunch of other games, where 20 VPs wins.  But, that doesn’t interest me.  I think turns is interesting, if tricky.  Have a thirteen turn game.  Most VPs after thirteen turns wins.

Of course, the kingmaking in such a situation is rather problematic.  V:TES does a fairly good job of limiting kingmaking through its ousting mechanic.  But, it can really suck to not be playing for an hour while other people are.  Plus, this rewards beating people up.  Plus, this punishes people for burning vampires, which leads to an interesting assessment on the relative merits of permanent removal versus VPs.

Name:  Master of None
Faction:  7 Masters
Size:  40

7 Masters Cards (19)
Characters (12)
1x Ghost Wind
1x Gold Lion
2x Jade Willow
1x Monsoon
2x Mountain Hermit
1x Red Bat
2x Wah-Shan Clan Warriors
1x Wudang Monk
1x Wu Man Kai

Events (6)
3x Kunlun clan Assault
1x Monkey Fools the Tiger
2x Pao Yeh Pao Lo Mi

Sites (1)
1x Wudang Mountain

Monarchs Cards (3)
Characters (3)
3x Auramancer

Generic Cards (18)
Events (7)
1x Discerning Fire
1x Larcenous Mist
1x Pocket Demon
2x Spirit in a Bottle
2x Violet Meditation

Feng Shui Sites (9)
3x Dockyard
1x Martyr’s Tomb
5x Mobius Gardens

States (2)
1x Boundless Heaven Sword
1x Six Demon Bag

I think I could have played Boundless in one game but didn’t need to.  Mobius Gardens has to get changed.  I guess being changed to Limited is the fix, though that just means it’s 1-2 copies in every single deck ever.

Name:  Queens of Nu Gua
Faction:  Guiding Hand
Size:  40

Hand Cards (23)
Characters (12)
3x Chanting Monks
5x Daughter of Nu Gua
4x Temple Guards

Events (9)
3x Confucian Stability
1x Corners of the Mouth
1x Into the Light
1x Iron and Silk
2x Journey’s Reward
1x Rigorous Discipline

Sites (1)
1x Garden of Peaceful Reflection

States (1)
1x Bamboo Cane

Generic Cards (17)
Events (6)
2x Blade Palm
4x Violet Meditation

Feng Shui Sites (9)
1x Medicinal Flower Garden
4x Mobius Gardens
1x Puzzle Garden
1x Quanqiu Wishing Well
1x Temple of Celestial Mercy
1x Temple of the Angry Spirits

States (2)
1x Butterfly Swords
1x Deadly Fans

It’s even a Garden!!  The metagame is just ridiculous where it’s all about how many Mobius Gardens you seize.

By the way, I tried to give a new player a 35 card deck to play in the classic tournament as it was my simplest deck, and someone thought that was ridiculous.  I have run out of cards in games … when I play against my own decks.  Otherwise, may have happened once, but I don’t recall.

I just don’t get why anyone would ever want a deck bigger than 45 cards unless you like not knowing what you are going to draw.  Admittedly, I quite like decks that play randomly in what cards I get, but that just means I take out redundancy in cards.

This build has won every game it has ever played.  I never had a character with fighting greater than 4.

2 Responses to KublaCon 2016

  1. brettscho says:

    I also really like the no-oust VTES idea. I’m not sure how well it would work with the current rule/card set, but if the game was ever redesigned, removing ousting seems like a good way to go. I was walking home from the gym today and started wondering about rebuilding VTES from the ground up. I certainly won’t be doing that, but it seems like there are so many concepts that got left out – the Masquerade being perhaps the most notable. I was kind of contemplating powerful actions that give you a Masquerade Violation token (which is kept secret) and at the end of the game, whoever breached the Masquerade the most is ineligible to win the game.

    Anyway, thanks for hanging out with me during my (mostly) failed demo – it was nice to have somebody to talk to, and particularly nice to learn more about other CCGs – there are so many that I haven’t played that have interesting mechanics worth thinking about, even if they are terrible games.

    Oh, and I’ll be sending you an email about L5R.

  2. Brad says:

    KC was fine in that I front-loaded it. Got there Thu afternoon & the con was in full swing. Played a wargame with Kevin. Drank some beer. Hung out with Darin. Friday I got there around 9. Hung out. Ran my wargame tournament & got 4 players. We timed out at 6 pm. Drank beer. Hung out. Boring dealers room. Got in line at the flea market 2 hours early. Probably the best con FM ever. Among the insane deals I got: GMT’s out of print Barbarossa Army Group South. Unpunched for $5. Sells on EBay for $180! Left around midnight. Got to the con late afternoon Sat. No prob with parking. Drank beer. Played VTES & did rather well. Trem/!/Trem Tap/Stealth Dom bleed with help from Heart of Nit… Skipped Sun & came back Mon for flea Market. Another good deal.

Leave a Reply

