Unusual Suspects

I will post about the routine.  V:TES playdays, Shadowfist nights, not as much RPG sessions as I’m not trying to elevate the visibility of RPGs the same way I have an interest in elevating the visibility of CCGs.

While recent gaming hasn’t necessarily been esoteric, obscure, or unprecedented, I feel like there’s some callout on the distinctiveness of certain things.

We didn’t play Shadowfist last Thursday, but we did the week before.  There was one thing I wanted to mention.  I played a Gibbering Horror.  “Yo, dude, so your metagame is, like, eventriffic, n’est-ce pas?”  Could be.  Red Bat is fairly common.

Gibbering Horror, rather than posting the whole text, has a Fighting equal to the number of events in the smoked pile of the player to your left.  I played one.  The player to my left had this many events in his smoked pile:  0.  I was the table threat that needed to be beaten down for much of the game.

I questioned what I was doing when I did it.  I eventually concluded it was the correct decision.  Spending three power for no characters in play – try not do or do not.  I’m sure any Shadowfist player will figure out why it was necessary – resources.  With a second Lotus resource, I could play characters that did something.

Okay, moving on.

Saturday, I played in a playtest of a friend’s Feng Shui game using the FATE system.  It went fine.  We pointed out a few things.  I was reminded of why I have such a hard time with systems that mechanize thematics.  You don’t need to mechanize thematics.  I find FATE so much more gamey than d20, for instance.  When everything relates to some sort of mechanic, you are actually, shockingly enough, more mechanical than a game where the GM just says “Okay, go ahead and roll Brains + K: Pudding.” and tells you what’s what.  Anyway, always nice to have food served for his events.

We played V:TES today.  Brandon built a cube.  In my mind, a cube draft is you choose any card from the cube and people keep doing that with all cards and picks known, but I guess I’m wrong as Wikipedia says you can make makeshift boosters out of your cube.

Six of us did that.  We made crypt boosters of nine cards, two “packs” per player, and booster drafted them.  We made library boosters of 10 cards and booster drafted them.  All of the crypt cards were group 1, no duplicates.  Library cards had some duplicates – the total contents of the cube weren’t known to the rest of us.

So, let’s say you know V:TES.  Which vampire did I draft first?  No, not Gideon Fontaine, I actually passed him when he came around.  I did not see Anson.  I did see Mariel, Lady Thunder but passed her.  I did draft Anneke … and didn’t play her, it was more of a hate draft in that I hate her ability.

Give a hint, Ventrue.

I drafted Nash but not first.  I drafted Bridges but not first.  I drafted Democritus as a second pick.

I had Jazz, Heather, Melissa (really tempted as I love the card even if I prefer other cards’ art).  Never saw Crowley.  I had Helena and Natasha since no one wanted her.  I played neither.

Yup, once you filter the list down, not a lot of other possibilities.  Oh, I also had Violette and Courtland and played neither.  Yup, I first picked a +1 Strengther.  Every time I see her, I think about how I’d like to play her.  Maybe, the art has something to do with it.  Maybe, I am nostalgic for the days when I played Dominate all of the time.

I second picked another 6-cap.  A Tremere.  I didn’t play Lydia.  See, it was fairly obvious that there was a fight for Dominate cards, and the Presence cards were often bleed cards.  So, I picked up a lot of Fortitude damage prevention relative to what I wanted to get.

I like that it was different.  But, what makes me more interested in limited play is seeing cards you don’t see in constructed.  I put a Meat Cleaver in my deck.  That’s cool.  What was not as cool was how many times I had to pass bleed cards because I had to get good stuff.

#1  Pool Gain

#2  Untaps

#3  Permahurt or permastealthbleed (permableed is good, permastealth is good, permastealthbleed is sick)

My first library pick was … Wake with Evening’s Freshness.  I had to pass good stuff to get Sudden Reversal (stopped Legendary Vampire on my predator’s Anson in the first game, stopped Frontal Assault by my predator in the second game), King’s Rising, a second King’s Rising.  Sure, I also ended up with one of the most powerful transient cards in limited play – Leverage.  And, a Bonding.  And, something like four Presence bleed actions.  I cut Restoration from my deck as I felt too action heavy.  I didn’t cut Mesmerize.

Ah, Mesmerize.  Shows how little I play with it (keep wanting to call it Memorize) that the first game I made three horrible mistakes on my prey’s first action.  I blocked The Crimson Sentinel with Nash and Second Tradition (only intercept card in the deck) … wait for it … with Memorize in my hand and the minion getting the card couldn’t generate intercept and my prey wasn’t going to bring out another minion that turn.  I had Minor Irritation in my hand and didn’t play it.  I used a disciplineless combat card to avoid being hand striked rather than take Anastasia’s hand strike when I had damage prevention in my hand and I had Delilah in play who couldn’t play any of my numerous damage prevention cards.

I swept that four player game.

I didn’t sweep the six player.  I ousted my prey just at time with a four bleed at two stealth because Leverage is broken.  Well, my prey didn’t have to bring out another minion late in the game.  I did have both King’s Risings in play.  I had Barrensed away one of them in the four player as I had too much pool to want to negate transfers.

It was not constructed play, but it was limited play with a lot of the common suspects.

Given how much players who aren’t good at draft complain about their decks, I can see this being more popular as a format as there’s much less fighting with one’s deck to do things.  I think it helps level the playing field.  I found that I had vastly superior decks to my opponents when I drafted challenging sets because I evaluated cards better and had a clearer vision of what sort of deck I was making.  I rarely had to pass cards of the power level that this draft had.  Anyone could get good cards, though here’s a tip – don’t pass King’s Rising, unless, of course, you have the choice of Failsafe or some similar pool gain bomb.

Anyway, we also did a constructed game, but that’s hardly unaccountable.

Oh, Gen Con events today.  Things seemed to have worked out for me and another, but I’m not sure if the third of our group that is going together got what he wanted.  As painful as hotel reg can be, event reg is light centuries ahead of what it used to be and actually rather efficient.  The wish list thing is magnifique.  I was done in the first 20 minutes of registration being open.

What did I go for?  A lot of supernatural stuff.  That’s really my thing.  Whether it’s mythological supernatural or modern supernatural or historical supernatural, it’s just my biggest draw.  No CCGs – Shadowfist is at the wrong time, which I mentioned last year; V:TES just isn’t fun enough during the con.  After the con, before the con, I’m happy to do whatever, maybe a pickup game late at night.  But, I have so very many things I want to do just in the RPG schedule.

And, that’s without any HoR.  What’s the point of my playing any Nightmare War at this stage?  I did look at some non-HoR L5R games, but there are just far too many things I want to try.

Leave a Reply

