Desire

Talked about fear.  Let’s talk about desire.

At the simplest level, what is it I desire out of games?  Ultimately, they are probably the same sort of things, so maybe it’s more interesting to start with specific desires in various genres.

Boardgames/Card Games/Other

I can’t say that there’s much that I desire out of these categories.  My favorite boardgame is HeroQuest, which is my favorite because to me it’s a (very simplistic) RPG.  Actually, in reality, dungeon crawl RPing is really more of a boardgame, but whatever.  I don’t care if Dominion comes out with expansions, I don’t care what the hottest boardgame is, I don’t care if I ever play Power Grid, I don’t care about attempts to continue to make cooperative boardgames.

If I had to put down anything as a desire here, it would be for some nostalgic gaming.  I haven’t played mah-jongg in ages, for instance.  It was amusing that someone in my fitness class asked me if I played.  I wouldn’t mind playing some bridge.  HeroQuest would be great, too.

I can think of one thing that might be interesting – playing some straight BattleTech since our Mechwarrior campaign has reminded me both that the game exists and that I’ve played very little of it.

CCGs

The easy one.  A desire to play a two-player CCG.  Magic is probably out, which doesn’t leave much in the way of options.  Even though Ultimate Combat! is the best CCG ever, people don’t take it seriously.  Wheel of Time never had much of a player base to begin with.  It would be an amusing time to get into L5R, but why bother playing a game I never thought was worth getting into previously?

Amusingly, I continue to notice Dragon Dice at Gen Con.  I was trying to explain the game recently and remembered that the game does actually work.  It just has the big problem, for me, of being a CDG rather than a CCG.  I like hidden information, and I’m sure there are some other differences that make CCGs better.

What do I desire for V:TES?  I almost don’t care whether more sets come out, which is a very interesting place for me to be.  I’m just not obsessed with newness like I once was with CCGs.  It has increasingly become a house game for me rather than a “public” game.  On the other hand, I desire to build decks, lots of things I haven’t done.  If I were building more decks, I could see caring more about expansions.

RPGs

I desire a HoR3.  I desire taking a serious look at L5R 4e, which seems likely as I plan to run HoR2 for people not previously exposed to it.  But, why?  I think HoR satisfies a couple of things.  One is the sense of a greater community.  I’m seeing less and less people at cons.  I’m not deeply involved as a volunteer for anything.  I don’t even see much of the V:TES crowd in the area outside of the South Bay group.  The other has to do with my recent philosophies on objectivity in gaming.  I was just talking to various people about how HoR is relatively objective, so you have some sort of context for your character where a house game has no baselines, no common language that has any real meaning.  I can talk about my 15th level Conan character, but it means jack to anyone, where some (few) people will grok what my HoR characters have gone through.

I desire having supplements for games.  More specifically, I’m talking about things like the Solomon Kane supplements or L5R 4e supplements.  I could have bought them at Gen Con, but two things stifle such desires.  The one that probably matters more is realizing how many gaming things I’ve bought in my life that I didn’t get use out of.  Now, admittedly, there are many products I never used directly that I ended up using for fluff or ideas or whatever, but a lot of books I’ve barely looked at.  The second is that I have extremely elastic demand curves, so I wasn’t going to pay full price just because they were in front of me.

I desire to build characters.  At the moment, that’s mostly L5R 4e because that’s where my head has been this year.  But, it could end up being all sorts of things.  Not Mechwarrior where the creation process is incredibly goofy, but if I got into something else.

I desire to write.  To finish my HoR characters’ stories, to write up sessions where major stuff happened in Conan, to write about a minor character in that campaign, to write up what’s going on in SK so that the players feel more immersed.  Unfortunately, as with many desires, the desire to rest and relax when not working typically wins out.

I desire to find sources of inspiration (for RPing).  I’m thinking books – I have some I haven’t read; movies – I never know which to go see; TV – I watch little anymore.

Core Desires

What are the common desires that have nothing to do with the genre of gaming?

Number one may be to have cool stuff happen.  I was talking to my Conan GM today about Conan and SK.  As a player, his primary motivation is survival.  My primary motivation is to experience cool things, not even do cool things though doing is probably better than having been done to.  Run a camel up a ziggurat while fighting a ghoul horde is cool whether it was all that effective or not.  Blowing up an Assault Rifle with Shattering Blow – stunning. 

Which brings up expectations and context.  Cool is unusual.  That means there has to be a usual.

A desire for ideas and scenes.  I put these together because ideas I get so often produce mental scenes.  Even with CCGs, I envision blowing people’s minds by playing horrible cards in high level competition.  Speaking of CCGs, I have the chronic problem of having good enough (fresh enough) ideas for decks to cause me to produce the level of deck-building I desire.  Ideas don’t necessarily have to be cool, but they should be distinctive.

Time and money.  I game a lot.  I’ve gamed a lot in my life.  I can’t really argue for having more time to game.  And, money isn’t really necessary to game, though, as with all things, it helps.  I’d like to be able to just pick up something and not feel guilty about its cost, and I’d like to be able to just pick up something and play it and not have to give up something else to do so.  Kind of dumb desires as I think these things have more to do with regrets than desires and that’s a different topic.

Desire for everyone to have fun.  I’m willing to sacrifice many of my interests if it means everyone else will enjoy playing something.  Similarly, investment.  That is, I desire everyone to be invested in the game.  My greatest enjoyment from games isn’t from playing them, it’s from thinking about them.  Then, there’s talking about them.  I don’t push people on my favorite games, such as UC! or (back in the day) Immortal or whatever, because I desire to see people invested and that comes from their interests.

Fairness, balance.  My frequent rants (in the past) were on issues of game balance.  Much of this desire, however, is really a desire for variety.  Balance in games produces a greater variety of decks, of characters, of strategies.

Health … of the hobby/table top/whatever gaming industry.  I look around and see CCGs dying, RPG companies folding.  Sure, boardgames seem to be doing well, but I care about my top two gaming types far more.  Conventions don’t seem to be doing too well, either, whether small or large.

Uses

I’m not going to get into personal uses of people’s desires.  I’m talking about industry uses.  Mark Rosewater often brings up what people desire when talking about what Magic players desire.  While this topic is way too big for me to ramble on about sufficiently, a couple of thoughts come to mind.

The desire for rewards.  I see this being a frequent marketing failure on CCGs’ parts.  Yes, CCGs reward with ratings, promo cards, maybe even money.  But, I don’t think the companies I’ve cared about were aware enough about how to reward the player bases to keep them ardent.  Take V:TES and its system of coming up with your own prizes.  Does that keep costs down for a small company?  Sure, but it also sends a message that the game isn’t important enough and your playing it isn’t important enough for the company to care if you do play it.  There’s a reason companies market.  And, having tournaments and prizes worth mentioning and making players feel like they are getting something they didn’t pay for are ways to do it.  Interestingly, B5 got a bad rap because its promo system was out of control.  But, that has to do with a desire not to have unique promos ;) …

Other gaming types can have rewards, as well.  Living campaigns can do that.  There are boardgame tournaments.  But, I’m mostly concerned with CCG marketing.

Speaking of which.  I’m kind of surprised at how poorly CCGs seem to be faring when you consider what a brilliant money-making model they have.  The desire of people to gamble was satisfied with random packs.

Many of the things that people desire are not satisfied by V:TES and I’m not sure they can be at this point.  Grokability?  Intuitiveness?  Flavor?  Mechanical potential?  Nostalgia?  As unlikely as I think it would be to work, one wonders whether V:TES could be rebooted.

Note that many of the things that “feel right” or inspire for CCGers are the same that you want out of RPGs.  I see many attempts to make weird stuff when I’d be happy if there was some sort of good, basic fantasy game – no generic (aka Tolkien) fantasy races, no overly mathematical mechanics, no “we don’t need mechanics because we aren’t D&D” pretensions.

Some day, I’ll finish this series.  Regrets, the most painful sin of them all.

2 Responses to Desire

  1. Azel says:

    I’m notoriously absent from VtES, especially lately. And this article highlights a desire I wish I could satisfy, and how they are connect by a further distinction. Time and money: wish I had more of both, but *Distance* somehow compounds both factors.

    I am in transition, so money and time are tight this year. However this does not mean I have zero time or money — there always has to be some flexibility of any scale of stress. However, because of distance acting as a sort of multiplier, it makes budgeting time and money far harder.

    When I was living in Seoul (where, admittedly, I did have more money and time on my hands) I had a chance to notice how distance still showed up as an exponential factor. Even though music shows were a bit cheaper (as was beer, bus, subway, food, etc.) they were not egregiously cheaper — more like just a continuous 15-30% discount. However I was going to shows at almost four to five times greater regularity.

    The only thing I imagined that could have affected this is distance (read either as density or transport simplicity). Somehow not having to pay for bridges and parking and all that hassle, or not having sheer distance going clear across half the Bay Area, made life easier. When a party district is $0.70 and 20 minutes away — and a cluster of clubs, eateries, etc. is tightly packed in a mile radius — suddenly a lot more money and time is freed up for play. Now double or triple those cost numbers and suddenly time/money budgets get more strained.

    Part of me thinks our medium density living and poor mass transit (or parking challenges) really magnifies this sense of isolation. And particularly so for gaming as it’s a social activity that thrives on a critical mass hanging out socializing. Distance just makes things harder because relaxation becomes more of a planned than casually participated activity.

  2. Brandon says:

    I think I agree about not playing certain things because of a desire to at least give everyone a chance to have fun. Some decks, or even cards, seem to suck the fun out of the game more often than others. A turn 3 Parity Shift, a heavy S&B pred, a wall prey, all seem to turn my game into “how do I obliterate this player before they completely ruin my game,” or, failing that, how do I make their game equally painful? Being on the giving or receiving end of such treatment is not that fun, so it takes a different attitude or a different deck.

    Managing others’ desires seems to be quite important in maintaining a gaming group or an office. Does everyone get something they want(i.e. at least recognition)?

    For me, I have two simple gaming desires:
    1) Have a chance at winning(which also involves knowing what’s going on).
    2) Enjoying the time I spend gaming.

    Vtes does a good job at fulfilling these two desires because the material is interesting and the card game involves enough variables that most anyone has a shot.

    Side-note: it’s funny/sad to watch game stores farming money from MtG players in drafts. I noticed that the game recommends that players be 13+, but there’s a ton who are younger and they are all too happy to hand over their parents’ money for cards that will soon be banned anyway. Is it a good deal for them, or just the store and the company? It’s hard to judge.

Leave a Reply

